Loading Events

Part of SFFILM Festival

Save Yourselves!

Directed by Alex H. Fischer, Eleanor Wilson

USA | Fiction | 94

17 Apr
Fri, Apr 17, 2020 at 6:00 pm
Victoria Theatre
Victoria Theatre 2961 16th Street (between Mission and Capp Streets)
San Francisco, CA 94103 United States
20 Apr
Mon, Apr 20 at 8:45 pm
Roxie Theater


A surprising intrusion shocks Brooklyn hipsters vacationing at an isolated cabin in the woods in this breezy comedy about “getting away from it all.” Jack (John Reynolds) and Su (Sunita Mani) are a devoted couple, but inept when it comes to “adulting,” so survival is not a given when they come face to face with a potentially world-destroying force. Reynolds and Mani are delightful as a loving pair blundering their way through the apocalypse in an amiable farce buoyed by their hilarious performances, original storytelling, and amusing, low-tech effects.

Save Yourselves! knowingly digs deep into [a] long-time couple’s obvious ennui… and pulls out a winking contemporary comedy with a generous dash of cutesy sci-fi weirdness.” –Kate Erbland, IndieWire

Director Alex H. Fischer

Alex H. Fischer was named one of Filmmaker Magazine‘s “25 new faces of independent film” for 2017 and he was selected for the Sundance Institutes Screenwriters Lab and Creative Producing Summit. His unproduced screenplay Nobody Nothing Nowhere was included on the 2018 Black List. His films include the sorts For Maya (2016) and Snowy Bing Bongs Across the North Star Combat Zone (2017). Save Yourselves! is his first feature.

Director Elizabeth Wilson

Elizabeth Wilson is a director, writer, and producer who makes her feature directing debut with Save Yourselves!. Her short films include Possum (2013), Two Lanes (2014), Everything All at Once (2015), and Low Road (2018). She is a recipient of Film Victoria Producer’s Attachment, the Future of Film is Female grant, and a number of writing residencies.

Film Details

Language English

Year 2020

Runtime 94

Country USA

Director Alex H. Fischer, Eleanor Wilson

Producer Kara Durrett, Mandy Tagger, Adi Ezroni

Writer Alex H. Fischer, Eleanor Wilson

Editor Sofi Marshall

Cinematographer Matt Clegg

Music Andrew Orkin, Kyle McKeveny

Cast Sunita Mani, John Reynolds, Ben Sinclair