Loading Events

SFFILM Festival

Members Screening: Mother Couch

Directed by Niclas Larsson

USA | Fiction | 96

28 Apr
Sun, Apr 28 at 10:00 am PT

Free admission for SFFILM members.

This screening is a benefit of membership and will not count against annual RSVP allotments. Members are encouraged to arrive 30 minutes before showtime. Seating is first come, first served, and not guaranteed.


Mother (Ellen Burstyn) refuses to leave a couch, which might not be a problem for her youngest child David (Ewan McGregor), except the sofa sits in a defunct furniture store and the owners want her to vacate. That is the set up for writer-director Niclas Larsson’s absurd first feature that explores the ways our families can work our every last nerve. With Mother refusing to budge, David enlists his brother Gruffudd (Rhys Ifans) and sister Linda (Lara Flynn Boyle) to join him in coaxing her home. The three actors’ wildly incongruous accents hint at children raised apart from one another and help explain the overall sense of estrangement — though not how Mother wandered into the store in the first place. 91-year-old Burstyn is marvelous in this film full of droll laughs as the recalcitrant matriarch, receiving excellent support from a cast that also includes Lake Bell, Taylor Russell, and F. Murray Abraham.

Director Niclas Larsson

Niclas Larrson was a child and teen actor in his native Sweden before enrolling in USC Cinema School. He is a three-time winner at the Göteborg Film Festival, capturing the Novella Film Award and audience prize for his short film Vatten (2013) and the Dragon Award for Mother Couch. He received a 2021 Directors Guild of America, USA nomination for Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Commercials for Volkswagen: See the Unseen and Volvo XC60: The Parents.

Film Details

Language English

Year 2023

Runtime 96

Country USA

Director Niclas Larsson

Executive Producer David Harari, Ewan McGregor, Jon Rosenberg, Natalie Sellers, Ryan Zacarias

Producer Ella Bishop, Alex Black, Sara Murphy, Pau Suri

Writer Niclas Larsson

Editor Carla Luffe

Cinematographer Chayse Irvin

Music Christopher Bear

Cast Ewan McGregor, Rhys Ifans, Taylor Russell

Closed Captions Closed Captions are confirmed for this program

Audio Description Audio Descriptions are not yet confirmed for this program

American Sign Language (ASL) Interpretation American Sign Language Interpretation is not currently scheduled for this film